Dayum good chocolate cake

Kek. That’s what I say in my head when I say “cake.”

I don’t like to brag about TOO too many things, because then people’s standards get way too high, and that really doesn’t benefit anyone. BUT. 99% of the baked goods I make are SO moist. No matter what recipe I use, if it’s the first time or the fa-chillionth time, there must be some kind of magic touch involved because I cannot explain my luck.

For cakes I do not have the pleasure of making, sometimes people are like “Wowww this cake is sooo goooood” as I simultaneously swallow its dry, bland crumbles, and this is a situation I do not very well understand. I do not possess any rose-colored cake glasses, but I am happy for those that do. Lord, if my wedding cake is dry I do not know what I will do. That’s seriously something I think about on a fairly regularly basis. Such fairytale dreams!

This is a cake recipe that never, IIIIIII mean NEVER, does me wrong. Unfailingly moist. Originally for cupcakes, but I pour the same exact recipe into a 9″ pan and it works fine. The middle domes up a little higher than some other cakes, so I suppose if you want a layer cake wonderland, you’ll VERY UNFORTUNATELY have to seek another recipe.

Secret ingredient? Mayonnaise. Two n’s, one s, fy(m)i. Do these cupcakes taste like mayonnaise? No, silly! Honestly, sometimes when they JUST come out of the oven I feel like I can taste a teensy tiny tang, but once they cool and get a hold of themselves, they are perfectly chocolately and AMAAAAZING.

Yummy and MOIST chocolate (cup)cake(s)
Source: Jenny-Lynn Fischer on MixingBowl.com

Special equipment
muffin tin

Ingredients
1 cup granulated sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup hot water
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. Mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder and baking soda in bowl of an electric mixer until uniform. Looks like cake mix!

3. Add mayonnaise, vanilla, and hot water and mix well with a wooden spoon or hand/stand mixer. Really a spoon will do just fine. Scrape those sides, ladies and gents!

4. Pour into greased muffin tin or cake pan. I fill my tins up ALL the way instead of only 3/4 because caution is not present in my kitchen, and it makes 12 large cupcakes, so if you’d rather do smaller cupcakes in 2 batches, it would make a few more.

5. Bake for 17-20 minutes. Toothpick test- does it come out clean or with uncooked batter on it? (answer: clean). Or use a fork for a fork test. Let ’em cool a few minutes in the tin then wiggle them out and put on a cooling rack, if you have one.

Frosting pictured wasn’t that tasty, I didn’t have any butter, only shortening. For shame. And it’s just regular chocolate syrup, not ganache. The illusion is dead.

Best frosting out there as far as I’m concerned is the classic Wilton brand buttercream recipe: Vanilla. Chocolate.

About Jen Cantin

Follow Jen Cantin on Twitter if you have nothing better to do! Wouldn’t want to impose… Two cats and three times more ‘tude than the leading car insurance provider.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

