Deep Fried Dictionary: Couscous

Couscous: Grain; North AfricanCouscous is like rice but is technically actually a very tiny pasta. Better for you than most grains and very easy to cook: boil a few cups of water, add couscous, cover and let sit for 5 minutes! I mean really. It’s satisfyingly easy.

Couscous in its natural form must be steamed and dried before it gets to this convenient point, but typically you do not have to worry about this as Americans will usually encounter it in these “Near East” boxes that also come with seasoning packets. You can also get plain bags of it, too, though. Going koo-koo for couscous and flavoring it yourself and what not. Can be eaten hot or cold (like pasta salad, it’s pasta after all!).

Couscous story: When we went to Disney World when I was I’m not sure how old, like maybe 12 or something, we went to Epcot and I was so daring, as was my culinary leaning even then, and I got food from the Moroccan place and it had couscous and I enjoyed this couscous. And the rest of my family got chicken tenders and such and my dad recently brought this up as something he will always remember.

Couscous story II: My dog died this spring, but my brother and I used to call him “Couscous” sometimes in a high-pitched voice, because we felt that this would be a funny name for a dog. His real name was Sonny Sunbun and I miss him a lot because he was full of love.

Depressing entry.

Availability: Everywhere. With the rice. A few decades ago, probably not everywhere. Today, everywhere. I think this is good.

Recipe to try: Couscous with Apples, Cranberries and Herbs from Giada DeLaurentiis Just get whatever kind of couscous you like/can find and prepare according to the instructions on the package, then just add the ingredients as listed in the recipe. I just really like this, it’s foolproof and flavorful.

Back to Deep Fried Dictionary

About Jen Cantin

Follow Jen Cantin on Twitter if you have nothing better to do! Wouldn’t want to impose… Two cats and three times more ‘tude than the leading car insurance provider.
This entry was posted in Deep Fried Dictionary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

