Breakfast for Dinner Party: Homefries

These cute little mini-skewers were not the most popular item but one is obligated to pay homage to homefries, especially homefries done well, not huge, raw chunks of potato without any seasoning. At first I typed “reasoning,” I suppose that also applies.

I do my homefries with paprika and salt. This batch was over-salted, I will not lie to you. Toooo generous, I guess I was in the holiday spirit.

My first job when I was so young was at New York Pickle Deli, a breakfast/sandwich place that put paprika on their homefries and they were so so good. I’m 99% sure it was paprika but don’t want to feel stupid if it wasn’t. But yeah, none of this rosemary garbage, I enjoy the paprika.

I guess I have yet to divulge the contents of these mini-skewers in case you couldn’t exactly tell. Oh, I guess it says in the top photo. They are jarred roasted red peppers and jack cheese. I decided against pepper jack to avoid being “matchy matchy.”

I do homefries in the oven (like oven-baked French fries) instead of a frying pan because I consider them to be 50% healthier even though they’re probably 2% healthier.

Jen’s Super Awesome Homefries

Although I like to have an exact recipe on-hand for people who are not yet comfortable with the “whatever seems right” method, this is really one that you just eyeball everything. Paprika isn’t spicy, so if you over-season it at least your mouth won’t be burning. You can do this with one potato or many, and so the amounts vary even more.

Also the exact crispiness is something that can be accomplished in many ways and cooking times also depend on how much you’re making. Just keep an eye on them and you’ll know what works for you for next time.

Ingredients, in any proportions

Russet potatoes
Vegetable Oil
Salt
Paprika

Wash the potatoes if you plan to leave the skin on. I plan to do this because I like potato skin. If not, peel the potatoes. Chop into quarters. Put them in a pot of cold water and bring  to a boil over high heat.

Preheat the oven to 450F.

Boil the potatoes until tender but not falling apart. Drain and rinse with cold water. When they’re cool enough, chop into smaller pieces of your desired size/shape.

Pour enough oil to coat the potatoes into a bowl. Add a little salt and a lot of paprika, but not too much because you can always add more. Stir til your oil is nice and red. Add the potatoes to the bowl and mix with a spoon or your hands until the potatoes are evenly coated. I like them to be very red-orange. They might fall apart a bit, so be careful if that bothers you.

Spread the potatoes evenly on a baking sheet and bake for I have no idea how long, I’m sorry. Check after 10 minutes and stir them around to get an even crisp. I’d estimate it took about 20 minutes for 5 or so potatoes. Alternately, you can also cook them in a frying pan.

Bonus: Jen’s Super Awesome Breakfast
This is the best breakfast ever for anyone who was wondering. TIED with one egg over easy with sharp cheddar, barbecue sauce and cilantro on a wheat tortilla, as stated on my Small Kitchen College contributor bio. Those are the two choices. But here is the special recipe that uses these homefries.

Ingredients
One egg over easy– GOOEY YOLK
One Trader Joe’s Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage, warmed up
1/2 cup Jen’s Super Awesome Homefries
2 tablespoons ketchup
3 tablespoons real maple syrup

COMBINE ALL INGREDIENTS IN A CEREAL BOWL. RELEASE GOOEY EGG YOLK BY PIERCING WITH FORK. STIR. LICK FORK. EAT BREAKFAST ANY TIME OF THE DAY.

About Jen Cantin

Follow Jen Cantin on Twitter if you have nothing better to do! Wouldn’t want to impose… Two cats and three times more ‘tude than the leading car insurance provider.
This entry was posted in Breakfast for Dinner Party, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast for Dinner Party: Homefries

  1. Pingback: Supper Club: Burrito Casserole at Small Kitchen College | Deep Fried Epiphany

Leave a Reply

