Muddy Buddy Breakfast Bars

DSCN5037

I actually think this concoction is pretty unique so I’m gonna make the title SEO friendly instead of stylistically convoluted to give myself a fighting chance in this world….

Do you guys know muddy buddies?

Do you?

Do you guys know puppy chow?

DO YOU??

Do you guys know (to a lesser extent) monkey mix?

DO YOU?????

WELL YOU DO NOW, I’ve done the work of Google image-ing them for you. This means chocolate, peanut butter, Chex cereal and powdered sugar all together as one for a snack some people would call ADDICTIVE depending on their family history, just kidding, that’s not nice.

Now, since I don’t drink coffee, I use the archaic method of depending SOLELY on the calories and nutrients in the foods I eat for energy. Plus my busy lifestyle means I need to wake up 9 or 10 minutes before I leave for work after 9 or 10 hours or sleep. Yet at the same time, I don’t like eating things I don’t like. These are the reasons I made this invention.

DSCN5006

Unlike the “traditional”(sneer) snack mix, these bars contain Puffins cereal, which I finally tried to see what all the PUFF was about, blurgh, and to benefit from a money-saving cereal sale. Real talk, they’re pretty bland and VERY crunchy so WATCH OUT! Do choose a highly crunchy cereal, though, so they don’t disappear into the main ingredient of just peanut butter.

Flimsy quick oats add health and do disappear into the main ingredient of peanut butter, so you’re basically eating them for free without knowing it like putting a pill in a dog’s food bowl but they actually eat it.

I also call them breakfast bars cause they have hella grams protein and fiber and not that much added sugar, so that’s my accomplishment of the day. Enjoy.

Muddy Buddy Breakfast Bars

Ingredients
3 cups Puffins OR any very crunchy cereal
1 cup quick oats OR regular rolled oats (for more texture)
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup chocolate flavored protein power OR 1/4 cup sugar plus 1/4 cup additional cocoa powder
1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)
2 tbsp butter
Heaping 1 cup peanut butter, crunchy, smooth, viewers choice
1/3 cup honey

In a large bowl, toss cereal, oats, cocoa powder, protein powder and chocolate chips until even distributed.

In a saucepan, melt butter, peanut butter and honey over medium heat. Heat and stir until liquidy and smooth.

Pour peanut butter mixture onto cereal mixture and stir until combined. If you’ve stirred and stirred and it’s still looking a little dry, add more peanut butter or honey (again, viewers choice) til all the dry gets absorbed by sticky.

Pour the mass of cereal etc. into an 8″x8″ pan and press flat. Refrigerate for about an hour. Cut into 9 pieces for breakfast or 16 for snacktime!

different strokes

Nutritional info that I was curious about. Calculations made on my own actually a little off because I added a bit more honey and pb and at that point I mean what’s done is done. Also does not include choco chips. This is for breakfast size:

Cal 290
Fat 19g 29% DV
Satfat 3g 15% DV
Sodium 204mg 9% DV
Carb 40g 13% DV
Fiber 4.5g 18% DV
Sugar 22g
Protein 14g 28% DV

Layman says, “not bad!”

About Jen Cantin

Follow Jen Cantin on Twitter if you have nothing better to do! Wouldn’t want to impose… Two cats and three times more ‘tude than the leading car insurance provider.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

